Stephen Pace, Founder

After receiving a degree in Accounting from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1965, he began his career with accounting firm Haskins & Sells, gaining financial experience that served him well as he successfully managed the completion of well over 15,000 single-family and multi-family home sites throughout North and South Carolina.  

As a leader in the land development industry, he has continued to actively serve in a variety of industry leadership and advisory capacities.  

Stephen has served tirelessly for well over 20 years on the Charlotte Mecklenburg Utilities Department Developer Liaison Committee, an organization that provides advice and support to NC's largest local municipal water and sewer authority.  

He has also served actively on the City of Charlotte/Mecklenburg County Subdivision Steering Committee, a stakeholder group of development and planning professionals whom help to steer the City of Charlotte in regards to development planning. 

Stephen recently spent over two years serving on the appointed subcommittee for the City of Charlotte and Mecklenburg County in the development and adoption of their current Erosion Control Ordinance. This ordinance has received State-wide recognition as one of the most effectively and environmentally conscious ordinances developed by a local municipality.

In Union County, he served on the 2025 Comprehensive Plan Steering Committee, Western Union County Local Area Regional Transportation Plan Steering Committee, and on the Town of Waxhaw Architectural Standards Steering Committee.

Stephen is also a member of the REBIC Board of Governors and the Charlotte Home Builders Association, which awarded him with the 1998 of the Distinguished Builder Service Award.  Other awards for his industry service include numerous accolades for his work with Habitat for Humanity over the years.

In his free time, Stephen has served as Scoutmaster for Boy Scout Troop 118 in Charlotte, NC for 40 years. He is the recipient of a variety of local and national awards including the Silver Beaver Award, and also was inducted in 2010 to National Scouting Hall of Fame for his remarkable service as leader of scouts. He currently serves on the Executive Board of the Mecklenburg County Council of Scouting.


Our Team:  Stephen Pace  |  Brian Pace |  David Faulkner  |  Eric Smith  |   Bill Bondurant  |  Susan Foster  |  Charlie Fonville